Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join AITP
Community Search
NCC Faculty Advisor

Faculty Advisor of the Year Award

Title: AITP Faculty Advisor of the Year Award

Purpose: AITP is fortunate to have talented educators serve as advisors to AITP's student chapters   all over the country. They willingly donate many hours to assure that their students receive a broader education than they receive in the classroom alone. AITP annually recognizes an advisor who has exemplified the highest ideals of his/her profession.


  • AITP student chapter must have earned SCOPA for the previous two years

  • The faculty advisor must have served a minimum of two years

  • The faculty advisor must have demonstrated a desire to enhance the professional development  of the students in his/her charge. Examples of this would be to regularly take students to IT professional functions, meetings & conferences, encourage students to compete in local, regional and national contest events.


  • The student chapter president prepares a letter of recommendation and forwards it with all supporting materials to the president of their sponsoring AITP professional chapter by March 1st.

  • The sponsoring parent chapter verifies that SCOPA was achieved and also writes a letter of recommendation. Mail the entire package to AITP-HQ by March 10th (including the SCOPA paperwork)

  • The AITP student awards committee will review all submitted materials and make their selection.

  • The award will be presented during the awards banquet at the upcoming AITP National Collegiate Conference

Faculty Advisor Inquiries and/or completed packets should be directed to the AITP Student Awards Committee Chair by emailing

Past Winners:

  • 2012-2013 Dr. S.E. Kruck, James Madison University
  • 2011-2012 Vicki Hampton, Eastern Illinois University
  • 2010-2011 Dr. Alex Citurs, Eastern Connecticut State University
  • 2009-2010 Brenda Wilz, Fox Valley Technical College
  • 2008-2009 Dr. Scott Hunsinger (Appalachian State Univ) & Kevin Jetton (Texas State Univ)
  • 2007-2008 *not awarded*

  • 2006-2007 Dawn Pantaleo, Kalamazoo Valley Community College

  • 2005-2006 *not awarded*

  • 2004-2005 *not awarded*

  • 2003-2004 *not awarded*

  • 2002-2003 Jim Cappell, Ph.D., Central Michigan University

  • 2001-2002 Barbara Russell, Northwestern State University

  • 2000-2001 Robert Brzycki, Milwaukee Area Technical College -West Campus

  • 1999-2000 Yvonne Antonucci, Ph.D., Widener University

  • 1998-1999 George Fowler, Ph.D., Texas A&M University

  • 1997-1998 Larry Cornwell, Ph.D. , Bradley University

  • 1996-1997 Teresa Hickerson, Cameron University

  • 1995-1996 Ernest Nolan, University of Southern Indiana

  • 1994-1995 Brian Reithel, Ph.D., University of Mississippi



Member Log In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined AITP yet?

Latest News
Upcoming Events

AITP Board of Directors Meeting

AITP Region Presidents Council Meeting

AITP Executive Committee Meeting

AITP Board of Directors Meeting

AITP Region Presidents Council Meeting

Online Surveys

Copyright © 2011-2014 Association of Information Technology Professionals, All Rights Reserved.
Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
AITP Headquarters, 15000 Commerce Parkway, Suite C, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054
Phone: 800.224.9371 or 856.380.6910 · Fax: 856.439.0525 · Email: