Join AITP   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: Chapter News

Mile High Holds Past Presidents and Scholarship Awards Night

Tuesday, August 21, 2012   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Suzanne I. Weston, Chair, Harold M. Pool Award

On May 17, 2012, the AITP Mile High Chapter held its Past Presidents' and Scholarship Awards Night dinner meeting at the Hotel VQ at Mile High, Denver, Colorado.

It was an excellent meeting and a good opportunity for the young and not-so-young to discuss the history and current state of IT. We thank our keynote speaker, Mr. Ken Shelby, the IT Partner handling CIO responsibilities for the Surveillance and Navigation Systems Line of Business at Lockheed Martin's Space Systems Company, for an excellent presentation on Retiree Knowledge Capture and Consumption Optimization. We learned techniques for dealing with loss of institutional memory and "know how” when retirees leave the company.   We were fortunate to be able to preview his presentation prior to his giving it to an international conference in Italy - his last step before being granted his doctorate. We offer our sincere congratulations to Dr. Shelby!

Six Chapter Past Presidents attended, and it was a pleasure to see them and to catch up.

Mile High Chapter Past Presidents:
Leonard Kopec, CDP (70-71),
Bill Gillette (1956 Colorado Springs Chapter),
Elaine Miller (95-96, 02-03, 07-08), Bill Stegen (05-07),
Carla Henebry-Branscombe (00-01), Randy Storm (11-12)

Matthew Coen, a graduating senior from Columbine High School, received the Dave Sanders Columbine Information Technology Scholarship. His award of $1000 will be applied toward his tuition at the Colorado School of Mines, where he will major in Mechanical Engineering.

Dave Sanders Columbine IT Scholarship winner: Matthew Coen; Larry Krupicka-Chair

Mr. and Mrs. Jon Coen, Matthew Coen, Larry Krupicka

Heather Flaherty
, graduating senior from Colorado Mesa University (CMU; formerly Mesa State College),received the Harold M. Pool Recognition Award (previously known as the Harold M. Pool Memorial Scholarship) for $650. Heather is now seeking the job of her dreams.

Harold M. Pool Recognition Award winner:
Heather Flaherty (Colorado Mesa University); Suzanne Weston-Chair

Our thanks to the CMU students, and Dr. Snyder and his family, for making the trip from Grand Junction for the meeting. However, because they experienced car problems, they did not arrive at the meeting until just before 10 pm. Wearing their traveling clothes, they gave their presentation of their winning experiences at the 2012 National Collegiate Conference (NCC), and we presented Heather with her award.

 Colorado Mesa University:
Heather Flaherty, Dr. Johnny Snyder-Advisor, Paul DuCray, Nathan Woods

Graduating CMU senior Nathan Woods showed off his t-shirt which won first place at the NCC. We all congratulated Nathan, and Heather and Steven Nolan (absent) for their Honorable Mention in the NCC Business Analytics Contest. The Chapter is very proud of the Mesa NCC team

 Nathan Woods and his AITP National Collegiate Conference
First Place t-shirt (a flashing display!!)

Dr. Mark Segall, one of the AITP student advisors at the newly named Metropolitan State University of Denver (previously Metropolitan State College of Denver), was also in attendance, as well as recent Metro graduate Keri Banick.

Congratulations to all our winners!

Stay connected with AITP!

Copyright © 2011-2016 Association of Information Technology Professionals, All Rights Reserved.
Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
AITP Headquarters, 1120 Route 73, Ste. 200, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054-5113
Phone: 1.800.224.9371 or 856.380.6910 · Fax: 856.439.0525 · Email:

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal