Join AITP   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: Chapter News

AITP Mile High Chapter Past Presidents Night and Scholarship Awards Night

Wednesday, July 1, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Vanessa Smith

Association of Information Technology Professionals
Mile High Chapter

Past Presidents Night and Scholarship Awards Night:
Harold M. Pool Recognition Award
Dave Sanders Columbine Information Technology Scholarship

By: Suzanne I. Weston, AITP Mile High Chapter Harold M. Pool Recognition Award Committee Chair


On May 21, 2015, the AITP Mile High Chapter held its Past Presidents and Scholarship Awards Night dinner meeting at the Quality Inn Central Denver in Denver, Colorado.


It was an excellent meeting, and a good opportunity for the young and not-so-young to discuss the history and current state of IT.  Our keynote speaker was Jonita LeRoy, with the Colorado Governor’s Office of Information Technology.  She delivered a dynamic and informative presentation about the status and prospects of IT economic development in Colorado.



Keynote Speaker: Jonita LeRoy



Five Chapter Past Presidents attended, and it was a pleasure to see them and reminisce.


Mile High Chapter Past Presidents (L to R): 

John Jackson (14-15), Kinna McDavid (03-04),

Elaine Miller (95-96, 02-03, 07-08), Bill Stegen (05-07),

Carla Henebry-Branscombe (00-01)


Three award-winning students from Colorado Mesa University (CMU) and Dr. Johnny Snyder drove over the mountains from Grand Junction to present a report of their experiences at the AITP 20th Annual 2015 National Collegiate Conference (NCC), held in Omaha, Nebraska.  Dr. Snyder and Dr. David Pumphrey are co-advisors of the CMU student chapter.


CMU AITP students Mark Boomgaard, Zach Horrall, Jordan Fisher, and Kaemen Chiles participated in this year’s NCC.  Mark and Zach took first place in the Microsoft Office Solutions Contest out of 82 teams, and they took second place in the Business Analytics Contest out of 26 teams.  Jordan placed second in PC Troubleshooting out of 153 contestants, and also earned a Systems Analyst certification.  Lastly, senior Kaemen scored a job with NCC sponsor USAA!  The Chapter is very proud of the CMU NCC team.


The visiting CMU students and their advisor, along with other Chapter members, toured the Denver FORTRUST Data Center and Colocation Services the day following the Chapter meeting.


At the May dinner meeting, Jordan Fisher received the AITP Mile High Chapter Harold M. Pool Recognition Award for $550.  This award is given in memory of our Chapter’s first president (1952-1953) and long-time mentor, Harold M. Pool, and is intended to encourage those students who the Chapter believes will continue Harold’s legacy.  Winners are chosen from nominations submitted by the Mile High Chapter student chapter advisors.


Harold M. Pool Recognition Award CMU winner: 

Jordan Fisher, Suzanne Weston-Pool Chair




Colorado Mesa University dinner attendees:

Kaemen Chiles, Mark Boomgaard,

Dr. Johnny Snyder – co-advisor, Jordan Fisher



Dr. Mark Segall and Ms. Annette Lege are the AITP student chapter advisors at Metropolitan State University of Denver.


Metropolitan State University of Denver:

Dr. Mark Segall – co-advisor



Connor Bramley, a graduating senior from Columbine High School, received the Dave Sanders Columbine Information Technology Scholarship, given in memory of the Columbine computer lab and business instructor who was killed while helping students to safety in the 1999 massacre.  Connor’s award of $1000 will be applied toward his tuition at the University of Colorado Boulder, where he intends to major in Aerospace Engineering.


Dave Sanders Columbine IT Scholarship winner:

Connor Bramley, Elaine Miller-Chapter Secretary



Connor Bramley, Elaine Miller, Connor’s mother Wendy



Best wishes to all our students as they prepare for the IT job of their dreams.

Stay connected with AITP!

Copyright © 2011-2016 Association of Information Technology Professionals, All Rights Reserved.
Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
AITP Headquarters, 1120 Route 73, Ste. 200, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054-5113
Phone: 1.800.224.9371 or 856.380.6910 · Fax: 856.439.0525 · Email:

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal