Join AITP   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: Region News

2011 Region 5 NCC Student Chapter Grant Winners Announced

Monday, March 7, 2011   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Vicky Harbour
The 2011 AITP National Collegiate Conference (NCC) will be held in Orlando, FL this year. Region 5 provides grants to Region 5 student chapters to help defray the costs of participating in the NCC.

There were 14 entries received for this year's Region 5 grant. The Region 5 Board of Directors approved four grants of $300 each to be awarded for use in attending the 16th annual conference. This year's entries were just a few short of the record 17 that were submitted for last year's contest.

The entries were evaluated on:
  • completeness of funding request
  • student chapter activities/accomplishments through the previous year
  • number of students that will be attending the NCC
  • number of competitions and number of teams that the chapter will be entering in the competitions
  • activities undertaken by the student chapters to obtain the funds to cover the costs to attend
  • description of how the funds would be utilized if awarded
The winners are, in no particular order:
  • Fox Valley Technical College
  • Eastern Illinois University
  • University of Southern Indiana
  • University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
The other student chapters who submitted applications were:
  • DeVry University-Chicago Campus
  • Ball State University
  • Blackhawk Technical College
  • Milwaukee Area Technical College-West Campus
  • ITT Technical Institute-Green Bay
  • Central Michigan University
  • Black Hawk College
  • Madison Area Technical College (MATC)
  • Ferris State University
  • Gateway Technical College-Kenosha
We want to thank all the student chapters for participating in the grant process this year. The applications for the NCC Grant tally 99 students planning to attend the NCC. Our student chapters boast some of the best and brightest and have had several contest winners. We anxiously await the results of this year's competitions and best of luck to all our students and teams. Have a great time in Orlando, also known as the happiest place on earth.

This year's NCC Grant Selection Committee consisted of Mike Hall, Capitol Chapter (Springfield IL); Richard (Dick) Boenisch, Sheboygan Chapter (Sheboygan, WI) and the chairperson, Vicky Harbour, Illowa Chapter (Moline, IL/Bettendorf, IA.)

Region 5, the "Pacesetter Region", represents 12 professional and 45 student chapters in Illinois, Indiana, Eastern Iowa, Northern Kentucky, St. Louis Metro Area of Missouri, Michigan and Wisconsin. Region 5 provides a vehicle for the exchange of information among chapters in the Region. It provides guidance for successful chapter management. The Region also provides educational and networking opportunities for its members.

Stay connected with AITP!

Copyright © 2011-2016 Association of Information Technology Professionals, All Rights Reserved.
Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
AITP Headquarters, 1120 Route 73, Ste. 200, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054-5113
Phone: 1.800.224.9371 or 856.380.6910 · Fax: 856.439.0525 · Email:

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal