Join AITP   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: Chapter News

Sherry Anklam Memorial Award Winners Announced

Thursday, July 24, 2008   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Larry Schmitz
Appleton, Wisconsin----The Northeastern Wisconsin Chapter recently announced the winners of the Sherry Anklam Memorial Award. Winners of the award for Spring 2008 are Michael Sweigart, AITP student member at Fox Valley Technical College in Appleton, and Rebecca Mertens, AITP student member at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College in Green Bay. Shown below (left to right) are Amy Christianson, Northeastern Wisconsin AITP Education Chair, award recipients, Rebecca Mertens and Michael Sweigart, and Larry Schmitz, AITP Region 5 Vice President and long time friend and colleague of Sherry Anklam.

The Sherry Anklam Memorial Award Fund was established in 1995 in memory of Sherry Anklam who was a long time member and former president of the Northeastern Wisconsin Chapter of AITP. Professionally, Sherry was the Data Processing Manager of Schenck Business Solutions, a large regional CPA and consulting firm for 20 years. Sherry passed away in 1995 at the age of 44 after a courageous struggle with cancer.

Sherry left her mark on AITP and the Northeastern Wisconsin Chapter and all who knew her. She personified the meaning of the words "professional" and "friend". She was responsible for starting the chapter's "100% Night" and for promoting student chapter activities and the chapter's scholarship program among many other contributions to AITP and her profession. Sadly missed by all who knew her-this award program in her name stands as a remembrance of what she stood for and what she accomplished in her short life.

In 2005, the Northeastern Wisconsin Chapter of AITP moved the fund to the Foundation for Information Technology Education to manage the funds and to take advantage of the fact that, as part of the Foundation verses the chapter, donations to the fund would be tax deductible to the donors. The Northeastern Wisconsin Chapter golf outing and private donations from a variety of sources finance the fund. The Northeastern Wisconsin Chapter of AITP annually selects the award recipients from among applicants that are AITP full time student members who belong to student chapters sponsored by the Northeastern Wisconsin Chapter of AITP. For more information on the Sherry Anklam Memorial award fund, and how to apply for the award or to make a donation to the Sherry Anklam Award Fund, go to

Stay connected with AITP!

Copyright © 2011-2016 Association of Information Technology Professionals, All Rights Reserved.
Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
AITP Headquarters, 1120 Route 73, Ste. 200, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054-5113
Phone: 1.800.224.9371 or 856.380.6910 · Fax: 856.439.0525 · Email:

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal