Join AITP   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: Chapter News

Chapter Awards Given to Outstanding Charleston, SC AITP Members

Sunday, December 23, 2007   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Nadine Evans

The November Annual Business Meeting was held at the Sheraton Hotel and Convention Center in North Charleston. Appetizers and beverages preceded the Traditional Thanksgiving Dinner and dessert.

Guest and Chapter Sponsors were ask to introduce themselves and were welcomed by all in attendance.

New Members were recognized by the New Membership Chair, Sherry Deese. The following new members were introduced to members, presented a New Member Packet, a copy of the AITP Code of Ethics and AITP Lapel Pin: Barry Duppstadt from Champion Solutions Group and Chris Hogan from eGroup.

Kelly Osburn and Matt Miersen, the evening's sponsor and speaker from LeftHand Networks, gave the 55+ members and guests in attendance a very detailed overview of VMware. They also presented each member and guest a 30 day trial version of the software.

Business for the evening included the vote to accept the 2008 Officers as presented by Past President, Ed Cavadias. The 2008 officers were presented at the October meeting and introduced once again to the members in attendance.

The Bylaws committee was introduced by Christina Wakenell with a brief overview of the process and criteria used in updating the Chapter Bylaws. Membership approved the adoption of the 2007 Updated Bylaws.

Executive/Bosses Night was celebrated. Those in attendance were Judi Olmstead, Charleston Airport Authority presented by member Sherry Deese; Ingrid Tugwell, PST Computer Training presented by members Virginia Holcomb and Cecelia Poplin; Michael Cortright, VA Hospital presented by member David Olivera; Sherry Deese, Charleston Airport Authority, presented by members Ed Cavadias and John Buhmeyer; and Tim Gillaspie, Honeywell presented by member Paul Cheney. Each Executive was presented with a certificate of appreciation for their support to our members and to the AITP Charleston Chapter.

The President presented a Power Point Presentation to all in attendance which outlined the 2007 Stated Goals, 2007 Objectives and 2007 Processes to attain stated goals to all in attendance. A brief review was given to outline how each goal had been met by the officers, committees and members to include the membership increase from 48 to over 90 members. She stated the Presidents Report will be posted on the website in December detailing the 2007 year for all to review.

In recognition of all Goals and Objectives having been met for 2007 the following Chapter Awards were given by President Nadine Evans who was assisted by Secretary Travis Baird.

Officer's Service Awards - .Receiving marble engraved awards were: Robin Ward, Vice President, Christina Wakenell, Treasurer, Paul Cheney, Director, Alan Blanche, Director, Ed Cavadias, Past President, Sherry Deese, Director and Travis Baird, Secretary.

The President recognized committee members who contributed to the Chapter in various areas this year. Recognized with engraved service awards were: Doug Barnard, Ken Chandlee, Michael Cortright, Kay Damp, Virginia Holcomb, John Kiser, John McFadden, Bill McBroom, Dan Nobles, David Olivera, Michael Painter, Kathy Patterson, Cecelia Poplin, Ingrid Tugwell and all 2007 board members who also serve on various committees. Tanja Blanche was recognized for her service to the Chapter as photographer and special events assistant.

The President's Award for 2007 went to Sherry Deese.
This recognition is given to an active chapter member who epitomizes positive energy, remains optimistic and enthusiastic. Sherry severs the board, the region and heads many committees. She has volunteered her time to numerous projects to support AITP in a variety of activities. It was pointed out that Sherry also represented our Chapter this year at both the Regional Meeting in Atlanta and National Meeting in Pittsburgh.

Employer of the Year award was given to Ingrid Tugwell, PST Computer Training.
The President jokingly explained the criteria considered to be eligible for this award. She told the members that the employer must give the AITP President unlimited time to do chapter work, let them have use of the company's staff for AITP business, allow the chapter to use your facility, provide a copier, paper, labels, cardstock and other supplies. They must also fund the kick-off event, donate to the raffle every month, and be a major sponsor for at least one event. The employer is required to serve on a major committee, donate their projector and laptop every month and help with last minute projects. They must also be willing to facilitate a workshop for free and show up for 90% of the meetings and pay the President's traveling expenses.

2007 Outstanding Chapter Member of the Year Award went to Alan Blanche.
President Evans indicated that this award is given to a member who has made significant contributions on every level to benefit the Chapter. She indicated that Alan is just such a person, in that he is dedicated to excellence, an inspiration and mentor to all, as well as a true professional. His leadership has allowed the Charleston Chapter to implement many new services during 2007 to include database management, retention, history, support of a variety of committees and a mentor to each person on the board. She went on to state that he understands the value of collaboration and through his spirit and strength helps develop new AITP members and officers. It was also recognized that Alan has been a Charleston Chapter Member for over 30 years and has held many positions to include Presidency during those 30+ years.

The evening concluded with the monthly raffle which included a car GPS donated by LeftHand Networks, a 2007 Microsoft Office Pro Package, donated by John Baker, gift certificates for the Holiday Festival of Lights from CCP&R, a night at the Sheraton, Starbucks cards from Cisco, Harbor Boat Tickets from Harbor Tours, Office Depot gifts, t-shirts, polo's, adult beverages, wireless cards and other items.

Half of the proceeds from the raffle were donated to the Lowcountry Food Bank and Karen Fisher was on hand to accept a check in the amount of $210.

The President thanked everyone for their assistance with the meeting, thanks to all for attending and reminded everyone of the Christmas Party, Installation of 2008 Officers and Toys for Tots drive to be held at the Marriott on Lockwood, December 13th.

Stay connected with AITP!

Copyright © 2011-2016 Association of Information Technology Professionals, All Rights Reserved.
Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
AITP Headquarters, 1120 Route 73, Ste. 200, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054-5113
Phone: 1.800.224.9371 or 856.380.6910 · Fax: 856.439.0525 · Email:

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal