Join AITP   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: Foundation for Information Technology Education

Foundation for Information Technology Education Regents Appointed

Thursday, October 19, 2006   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Teresa Hickerson
Two regents for the Foundation for Information Technology Education (FITE) were appointed by Teresa Hickerson, 2006 Association Executive Vice President to a three-year term starting in January 2007. The two regents are Robert (Bob) Heimann and Anthony (Tony) LaCrosse. Mark Gilfand, 2006 Association President, has appointed Dr. Brian Reithel to fill an unexpired term left vacant by the resignation of a FITE Regent.

The Foundation for Information Technology Education is the research and development arm of AITP. It is a not-for-profit organization which was estiblished in 1975 to meet the changing educational requirements of the information profession and industry, and to address the long term educational efforts essential to support the industry and AITP members.

The FITE, as an independent body representing educators and researchers, seeks to provide leadership in identifying education opportunities that will advance the information systems profession.

Robert J. (Bob) Heimann joined AITP - Northeastern Wisconsin Chapter in 1980 and has held many Board positions including Chapter President in 1989 and was voted Outstanding Chapter Member of the Year in 1992 and 2004. He was Co-Chairman of the 1989 Region 5 Conference and has assisted in other Region 5 Conferences and Leadership Workshops. Through most of his years in AITP, he has been especially focused on membership. He currently serves on the Chapter Membership Promotion and Retention Committees, the Association Professional Membership Retention Committee and the Association Research and Strategy Advisory Group (RASAG). He is also very active in the Boy Scouts Exploring for Life Program having led a student Technology Career Post for the past 16 years.

Bob has 33 years of information systems and management experience in software development, project management, strategic planning and IT management. Bob began his Information Technology career in the construction business in 1973 as a software developer, ran IT for a plumbing wholesale company and has copyrighted and marketed software on a national basis. In 1997 he was instrumental in establishing some of the first Internet based Project Websites for construction. During his career, Bob has worked closely with internal and external customers to improve productivity through the use of leading information technology systems, including optical imaging, e-business systems, pervasive computing and IP communications.

Tony LaCrosse has been an active member of AITP at the Chapter, Region and Association levels for over 30 years. He has 25 years on the Southeast Wisconsin Chapter Board - 2 terms as President. He is currently serving as Chapter Liaison and Education Director. Tony has 15 years on the Region 5 Board, 5 terms as Region President, he has also served in the capacity of Region Secretary, Region Vice President and Region Treasurer. Tony is currently completing his 7th term as Region Treasurer.

Tony has served 3 years on the DPMA Executive Council. The current Association Committees are 3 years on the Finance Committee which has performed 2 complete reviews of the AITP Investment Portfolio. Early in 2006, Tony did the same Investment Portfolio review for the FITE. Tony has also served on the Association Awards Committee for the past 3 years.

Tony is the owner and President of a Computer related services firm for over 15 years. He was an Area Manager for Ameritech until retirement.

Tony received the Lifetime Achievement IPA in 2002.

Dr. Brian Reithel has served as the Dean of the School of Business Administration at The University of Mississippi since July 2003. He is also a Professor of Management Information Systems. He has previously served Ole Miss as the Chair of the MIS/POM Department, as Associate Vice Chancellor for University Relations, as Co-Director of the successful $525 million Commitment to Excellence Campaign, as the founding Interim Director of the Trent Lott Leadership Institute, and as the Co-Chair of the Sesquicentennial Celebration.

In his capacity as a professor in the information technology arena, he has been recognized for excellence in teaching, research, and service over the last 20+ years. For example, he is a past recipient of the Outstanding Teacher Award in The University of Mississippi School of Business Administration and has also received the Ole Miss MBA Teacher of the Year Award.

In terms of research, his more than 80 articles and award-winning papers have appeared in leading journals and conference proceedings. He has been quoted in articles in the national popular business press, including PC World magazine, Inc magazine - the premier national small business magazine, The New York Times newspaper, and ComputerWorld - the premier news outlet for IT leaders in the Fortune 500. He has been interviewed for the career advancement and commentary sections of as well as Processor magazine. He has written articles for the Mississippi Business Journal and the Delta Business Journal in addition to serving as a trusted source of authoritative information regarding the interactions between emerging information technologies and business for Mississippi's state-wide Clarion Ledger newspaper. He has also appeared on National Public Radio and on Mississippi Public Broadcasting as a commentator on business and technology issues.

In terms of service to his profession, he was selected from among more than 200 student chapter advisors nationwide as the inaugural (1996) recipient of the Association of Information Technology Professionals' (AITP) national "Student Advisor of the Year" award in recognition of his dedicated efforts as the faculty advisor to the Ole Miss AITP Student Chapter. More recently, he served as the President of the national Foundation for Information Technology Education for three years. Finally, in 2005, he served as the national President of AITP - the world's oldest association for IT professionals - representing thousands of IT professionals across the nation.

A past recipient of the prestigious state-wide "Top 40 Under 40" award from the Mississippi Business Journal and the Mississippian of the Year award from the Jackson chapter of the Association of IT Professionals, Dr. Reithel has been a member of the Ole Miss School of Business Administration faculty since 1991.

Congratulations to Mr. Heimann, Mr. LaCrosse and Dr. Reithel for being appointed to the Foundation for Information Technology Education Regents.

Stay connected with AITP!

Copyright © 2011-2016 Association of Information Technology Professionals, All Rights Reserved.
Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
AITP Headquarters, 1120 Route 73, Ste. 200, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054-5113
Phone: 1.800.224.9371 or 856.380.6910 · Fax: 856.439.0525 · Email:

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal