Join AITP   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: Foundation for Information Technology Education

Foundation for IT Education Announces New Regents/Officers

Tuesday, February 7, 2006   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Larry Schmitz, CCP, CMC
Mark Gilfand, AITP Association President, announced the appointment of Ron Gandiza and Dr. Stuart Varden as Regents for the Foundation for Information Technology Education.

Ron is the Global Director of Programs for Culminis, a non-profit organization dedicated to elevating the status of the IT profession through a global support network. AITP is a member of Culminis. Mr. Gandiza started his IT career with the Air Force and served in several capacities within the federal government, most notably with the Secretary of Defense in the Pentagon, the Congressional Commission on Veterans Affairs and developing education and training programs for the Army and Air Force. Ron also worked for Microsoft after leaving government service, serving as the liaison between Microsoft and NASA. He brings a wealth of experience in the field of IT training and education to the Board of Regents of the Foundation.

Stuart Varden is a Professor Emeritus of Information Systems at Pace University. Dr. Varden has written actively in the areas of IT curriculum development, database management and telecommunications for the past 25 years. He also spent two years as a Visiting Professor at IBM. Prior to joining the faculty at Pace University, Mr. Varden spent 16 years as a statistical programmer, research associate and Data Center Manager at Columbus University in New York City. He has served as EDSIG President and the General Chairperson of the Foundation's ISECON conference and remains on the Board of Directors of EDSIG, the AITP Education Special Interest Group. His long term commitment to IT education makes him an ideal addition to the Board of Regents for the Foundation.

Mr. Gandiza and Dr. Varden will be replacing Bill Lackey, a past president of AITP, and Teresa Hickerson, the current EVP/President-elect of AITP, who have completed their terms on the Board of Regents. The Foundation Board would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr. Lackey and Mrs. Hickerson for their fine contributions and service to the Foundation.

The Foundation also announced its officers for 2006. They are:

Larry Schmitz, CCP, CMC---President
Dorothy Smith, CCP---Vice President
Nita Adams, CISSP---Treasurer
Kevin Jetton, CCP---Secretary

For more information about the Foundation for Information Technology Education and its role and mission within AITP and the Information Technology profession, click on the icon at the upper right of this publication's front page or go to

Stay connected with AITP!

Copyright © 2011-2016 Association of Information Technology Professionals, All Rights Reserved.
Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
AITP Headquarters, 1120 Route 73, Ste. 200, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054-5113
Phone: 1.800.224.9371 or 856.380.6910 · Fax: 856.439.0525 · Email:

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal