Join AITP   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: Foundation for Information Technology Education

Betty Stevens-Frecknall 2002 Scholarship Recipients

Saturday, April 26, 2003   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Bill Reaugh, CDP

A few years ago, the Foundation for Information Technology Education (EF) received a very generous gift, with help by the Washington D. C. Chapter, from the estate of Betty Stevens-Frecknall. Betty was President of the that chapter in 1972, served several years as that chapter's Association Director (now Chapter Liaison), and also was President of the Mid-Atlantic Region. Throughout her career, she was a very strong advocate for AITP, with particular emphasis on encouraging personal and professional growth. She was instrumental in establishing new student chapters in the Washington D.C. area.

Her donation has enabled the EF to endow a national scholarship fund, with the goal of providing financial assistance to full-time students pursuing a degree in an information technology discipline. The candidates are evaluated on the basis of demonstrated academic performance, leadership potential and financial need. The selection process is administered by EF Regents.

In 2002, over 90 applications were received and reviewed. The scholarships distributed ranged from $500 to $2000. Here are the recipients for 2002-2003:

Christopher Atkinson, DeVry Institute
Xueqian Chen, Michigan Technological University
Mindy Columbus, Robert Morris University
Matt Fontaine, Purdue University
Melany Howard, Chattahoochee Technical College
Galina Ivanova, University of Alaska-Anchorage
Terry Kidd, University of Houston
Maxim Sorokoletov, University of Alaska-Anchorage, Anchorage, AK

The principal assets of the endowment fund are kept intact, and only the income from the principal is used to finance the scholarships. The online application is on the EF web site ( The submission deadline for the 2003 awards is May 31, 2003.

If you would like more information, or are interested in making a tax-deductible contribution to the Betty Stevens-Frecknall Endowment, contact the EF President, William R. Reaugh, at

Stay connected with AITP!

Copyright © 2011-2016 Association of Information Technology Professionals, All Rights Reserved.
Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
AITP Headquarters, 1120 Route 73, Ste. 200, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054-5113
Phone: 1.800.224.9371 or 856.380.6910 · Fax: 856.439.0525 · Email:

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal