Join AITP   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: Association News

2010 DISA awarded to Dr. Coleman Furr

Friday, May 27, 2011   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Darlene Gerber

By: Jim Henry, AITP Association President
Posted: 2011-03-07

The Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP) announces the selection of Dr. Coleman Furr as the recipient of the 2010 Distinguished Information Sciences Award (DISA). AITP Executive Vice President Norbert Kubilus will present the DISA to Dr. Furr on Saturday, March 12, 2011 at 10:00am during Coleman University graduation ceremonies.

For over six decades, Dr. Furr has seen the growth of the computer industry from its beginnings to today's sophisticated level of combined, multifaceted technologies. Beginning in 1946 in a family-owned business, Furr applied automation tools, eventually working with a variety of organizations, including S&W Fine Foods, the Puerto Rican government, and FedMart Corporation (forerunner of Price Club and Costco). After a highly successful career in business, where he saw the continuing need for technology training and education, he founded
Coleman University and is still actively involved in the University's operations, serving as the Chairman of the Board of Trustees. In 2009, Dr. Furr founded Coleman Tech, a charter school emphasizing technology education.

Dr. Furr has given freely of his wisdom and experience by serving in various posts, including Commissioner for the
Accrediting Commission of ACICS, Chairman of the ACICS Accrediting Commission, and Director of Certification for the Institute for Certification of Computer Professionals (ICCP). Through his leadership ICCP, and its member organizations including AITP, achieved the goal of creating the Information Technology Body of Knowledge and the redesign of the testing program to emphasize a testing base body of needed knowledge, as well as testing in various specialties.

"On behalf of AITP, I'm happy to recognize the accomplishments of Dr. Furr," said Norbert Kubilus, AITP Executive Vice President. "He is a pioneer in the development of the information technology business professional, one result of which is Coleman University. We truly value his efforts in this area, as well as his dedication to the betterment of AITP and the information technology industry in general. It is an honor to present this award to an industry trailblazer and icon."

The DISA recognizes individuals who have made contributions through distinguished services to the field of information management. Dr. Furr joins previous recipients Rear Admiral Grace Hopper, Ross Perot, Max D. Hopper, and Bill Gates in this prestigious circle of honor.

2011 DISA nominations will be accepted through November 30, 2011.
Click here 
for more details.

Stay connected with AITP!

Copyright © 2011-2016 Association of Information Technology Professionals, All Rights Reserved.
Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
AITP Headquarters, 1120 Route 73, Ste. 200, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054-5113
Phone: 1.800.224.9371 or 856.380.6910 · Fax: 856.439.0525 · Email:

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal