Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join AITP
Community Search
News & Press: Student News

2003 AITP Region 3 Student Conference

Saturday, December 20, 2003   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Northwestern State University Student Chapter
Share |

2003 AITP Region 3 Student Conference Hosted by
Northwestern State University College of Business Computer Information Systems

The 2003 AITP Region 3 Student Conference was held on October 10-11 at Northwestern State University in Natchitoches, Louisiana. Six states comprise Region 3: Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas.

The conference was composed of five break-out sessions, six programming competitions, two speaker sessions, a banquet and a career fair, which included representatives from State Farm Insurance, J.C. Penney and Wal-Mart, and a publisher display by Course Technologies. The conference was successful thanks to the significant effort of the Northwestern State University student chapter and to the generous donations from conference sponsors State Farm Insurance, J.C. Penney and Wal-Mart.

Chapter Representation
Sixteen college and university student chapters attended. Present were:

Louisiana State University
Louisiana State University - Alexandria
New Mexico State University
Northwestern State University
Oklahoma Panhandle State University
Oklahoma State University - Okmulgee
Tarleton State University
Texas Tech University
Texas State Technical College - Abilene
Texas State University - San Marcos
University of Houston - Downtown
University of Louisiana - Layfayette
University of Mississippi
University of Texas - Arlington
University of Texas - Dallas
Williams Baptist College

A total of 178 people attended, 117 of which were students.

The six competitions and their winners were:

1st - Texas State University: Aaron Gadberry and Donald Berg
2nd - Texas Tech University: Dustin Smith and Matt Mason
3rd - University of Texas - Dallas: Joseph Alphonso and Mark Jones

1st - Northwestern State University: Kelli Fontana
2nd - Tarleton State University: Bill Douglass and Matt Kooker
3rd - Louisiana State University: R.L. Johnson
HM (4th) - Northwestern State University: Brandy Bourgoyne and Holly Nguyen
HM (5th) - Northwestern State University: Amanda Majure and James Marsh
HM (6th) - Northwestern State University: Beth Anderson and Susan Little

Database Design and Implementation:
1st - Northwestern State University: Kelli Fontana and Curtis Penrod
2nd - New Mexico State University: Dustin Whitener
3rd - Texas State University: Marrhew Hajda
HM (4th) - New Mexico State University: Robert Vickery and Celine Rimbert
HM (5th) - Northwestern State University: Jeffery Mathis

Systems Analysis and Design:
1st - Tarleton State University: Robert Fulcher
2nd - Northwestern State University: Erick Beechum and Joseph Brakhage
3rd - Oklahoma Panhandle State University: Shane Lockhart and Mary Sheldon
HM (4th) - University of Texas - Arlington: Ryan Lacanienta
HM (5th) - Williams Baptist College: Brian Catt and J.P. Emberton

Visual BASIC:
1st - Oklahoma Panhandle State University: Manuel Carranza and Mark Moore
2nd - Tarleton State University: Paul Lovelace
3rd - Texas State Technical College - Abilene: Brian Bramlett and Steven Fekety
HM (4th) - Texas State University: Carlos Rodriguez and Scott Crowder

Web Development:
1st - Texas State University: Matthew Hajda and Donald Berg
2nd - New Mexico State University: Jeremy McBurney and Felipe Scobell
3rd - New Mexico State University: Dustin Whitener
HM (4th) - Northwestern State University: Amanda Majure and James Marsh
HM (5th) - Texas State Technical College - Abilene: Christina Testa and Jonathan Davis

Member Log In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined AITP yet?

Latest News
Upcoming Events

AITP Executive Committee Meeting

AITP Region Presidents Council Meeting

AITP Board of Directors Meeting

AITP Distinguished Information Sciences Award (DISA) Documentation Due

Referral Campaign 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 Association of Information Technology Professionals, All Rights Reserved.
Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
AITP Headquarters, 1120 Route 73, Ste 200. Mount Laurel, NJ 08054-5113
Phone: 1.800.224.9371 or 856.380.6910 · Fax: 856.439.0525 · Email: