Join AITP   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: Chapter News


Monday, July 21, 2014   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Suzanne I. Weston, Chair, Harold M. Pool Award

Association of Information Technology Professionals 
Mile High Chapter


Past Presidents Night and Scholarship Awards Night:

Harold M. Pool Recognition Award

Dave Sanders Columbine Information Technology Scholarship


On May 15, 2014, the AITP Mile High Chapter held its Past Presidents and Scholarship Awards Night dinner meeting at the Hotel VQ at Mile High, Denver, Colorado. 

It was an excellent meeting, and a good opportunity for the young and not-so-young to discuss the history and current state of IT.  Donna Shannon, the keynote speaker and President and CEO of Personal Touch Career Services, taught us how to leverage our profile on LinkedIn to create a positive reputation, and gave us many invaluable tips on using the professional network.  She is a career coach and author of How to Get a Job Without Going Crazy.  She provides comprehensive workshops on LinkedIn, job searching, resumes and interview skills, teaching both business owners and job seekers effective personal marketing techniques.  It was the perfect topic for anyone using LinkedIn, which was everyone in the room.

Keynote Speaker: Donna Shannon

Six Chapter Past Presidents attended, and it was a pleasure to see them and reminisce.

Mile High Chapter Past Presidents (L to R): 
Elaine Miller (95-96, 02-03, 07-08), Bill Stegen (05-07),Pat Curtis-Jiwani (83), Randy Storm (11-13), Leonard Kopec, CDP (70-71), Bill Gillette (Colorado Springs 56)

Our students from Colorado Mesa University (CMU) and their advisor, Dr. Johnny Snyder, had been scheduled to drive over the mountains from Grand Junction to present a report of their experiences at the AITP 19th Annual 2014 National Collegiate Conference (NCC), held in Atlanta, Georgia.  However, school meetings and finals took precedence, and they were unable to attend our meeting. 

Three CMU AITP students traveled to the NCC: Nathan O’Connor, Dustin Delor and Michael Rowe.  Michael earned an Honorable Mention and Dustin took third place in PC Troubleshooting, out of 178 contestants.  The Chapter is very proud of the CMU NCC team. 

At the May meeting, the Chapter recognized two students with the Harold M. Pool Recognition Award of $350 each.  This award is given in memory of our Chapter’s first president (1952-1953) and long time mentor, Harold M. Pool, and is intended to encourage those students who the Chapter believes will continue Harold’s legacy.  Winners are chosen from nominations submitted by the Mile High Chapter student chapter advisors. 

Recipients were Kaemen Chiles, a junior at CMU, and Tanya Turitto, a senior at Metropolitan State University of Denver (MSU-Denver).  Unfortunately, Kaemen was among the CMU students who were unable to attend the May meeting; however, Tanya happily received her award in person.

Harold M. Pool Recognition Award CMU winner (2013 photo): 
Kaemen Chiles

Harold M. Pool Recognition Award MSU-Denver winner: 
Tanya Turitto, Suzanne Weston-Chair

Ms. Annette Lege and Dr. Mark Segall, the AITP student chapter advisors at MSU-Denver, and some of their students and previous students, were also in attendance. 

Metropolitan State University of Denver (L to R):
David Lauten, Ms. Annette Lege and Dr. Mark Segall -advisors; David Gilliland, Kellen Fockler, Tanya Turitto, Eric Kelly

Unfortunately, students at our recently sponsored AITP student chapters at National American University in Rapid City, SD, and Westwood College Denver South Campus, and their advisors, Steven Lashwood and John McNeely, respectively, were unable to attend the meeting.  However we look forward to their active participation in the future. 

Alekzander Bollig, a graduating senior from Columbine High School, received the Dave Sanders Columbine Information Technology Scholarship, given in memory of the Columbine computer lab and business instructor who was killed while helping students to safety in the 1999 massacre.  Alex’s award of $1000 will be applied toward his tuition at the Florida Institute of Technology, where he intends to major in Computer Science.

Dave Sanders Columbine IT Scholarship winner:
Larry Krupicka-Chair, Alekzander Bollig

Alekzander Bollig and family

Best wishes to all our students as they prepare for the IT job of their dreams.

Stay connected with AITP!

Copyright © 2011-2016 Association of Information Technology Professionals, All Rights Reserved.
Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
AITP Headquarters, 1120 Route 73, Ste. 200, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054-5113
Phone: 1.800.224.9371 or 856.380.6910 · Fax: 856.439.0525 · Email:

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal