Join AITP   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: Foundation for Information Technology Education

2006 Foundation for IT Education Scholarship Winners Announced!!!!

Monday, December 11, 2006   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Kevin Jetton
Kevin Jetton, 2006 Foundation for Information Technology Education Scholarship Committee chair is pleased to announce the 2006 winners of both the Kevin Jetton and the Betty Stevens Frecknall Scholarships. Each of the winners has been recently contacted and sent an official letter congratulating them of their achievements and more importantly - the message that the check is on the way to their respective college/university financial aid office to be used towards tuition, books and fees.

2006 Betty Stevens Frecknall scholarship winners:
1st Tracy Jessie University of Oklahoma $2,850.00
2nd Vicki Baugh Community College of Southern Nevada $1,900.00
3rd Kelly McGrath Texas State Technical College-Abilene $950.00

Betty Stevens-Frecknall left a portion of her estate to the Foundation for Information Technology Education (EF) to set up a scholarship fund targeted at assisting deserving men and women pursuing an education in the field of information technology. Betty was President of the Washington D.C. chapter in 1972, served several years as that chapter's Association Director (now Chapter Liaison), and also was President of the Mid-Atlantic Region. She was always a very strong advocate for AITP and the opportunities it provides to membership. She particularly wanted to be able to continue supporting and encouraging personal and professional growth and enable access to career advancement. The endowment created a national scholarship that is awarded annually to support university students who are seeking an education in an accredited degree program related to information technology. Candidates are evaluated on demonstrated scholastic achievement, leadership and financial need.

2006 Kevin Jetton AITP Service Scholarship winner:
Kelly McGrath
Texas State Technical College-Abilene $500

Kevin Jetton, is a Past President of AITP and a driving force behind the AITP National Collegiate Conference. In 2003, some members of AITP and the Education Special Interest Group (EDSIG) established the Kevin Jetton Service Scholarship Endowment that is administered by the Foundation for Information Technology Education to recognize and reward IT students that give back to AITP as a student in an extraordinary manner. Recipients must be full-time students pursuing a degree in Information Technology and member of an AITP Student Chapter. This scholarship is awarded on the basis of scholastic ability, demonstrated service and leadership potential.

Yes indeed - Kelly McGrath did great in that she applied for both scholarships and won too!!!!!! In fact, incoming AITP President Teresa Hickerson and myself surprised Kelly during the recent AITP Region 3 student conference awards luncheon in October on the campus of Midwestern State University by making the Kevin Jetton scholarship winner announcement at that time!

Additionally, I recently talked with Tracy Jessie's dad who now lives in Norman, Oklahoma, knows both Teresa Hickerson and Mark Kleine well, is a member of the Oklahoma City AITP chapter, was a member of the Atlanta, Georgia chapter and even attended the 50th anniversary AITP celebration in Baltimore and I met him them.....he is doing a great job of keeping IT and AITP in the family needless to say!

Lastly, I would like to thank the Foundation for Information Technology Education committee members Dorothy Smith, Teresa Hickerson and Priscilla Harrell and, of course, congratulations to ALL the scholarship winners!

Stay connected with AITP!

Copyright © 2011-2016 Association of Information Technology Professionals, All Rights Reserved.
Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
AITP Headquarters, 1120 Route 73, Ste. 200, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054-5113
Phone: 1.800.224.9371 or 856.380.6910 · Fax: 856.439.0525 · Email:

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal